Skip to main content
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL ORDERS OVER $50!!!
Close this alert
The Secret of the Lady's Maid (A Useful Woman Mystery #2)

The Secret of the Lady's Maid (A Useful Woman Mystery #2)

Current price: $27.00
Publication Date: December 26th, 2023
Publisher:
Kensington
ISBN:
9781496738035
Pages:
416
This item is not eligible for store pickup.
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days

Description

The resourceful and intrepid Rosalind Thorne, a heroine after Jane Austen’s heart, has a scandalous mystery to solve within Regency-era high society, in the latest novel in this nationally bestselling historical series. Ideal for fans of Andrea Penrose, Lauren Willig, and Deanna Raybourn.

Rosalind Thorne’s quick wits and discretion have proved invaluable to London’s haut ton. Success has at last brought her financial stability and a new home, which she shares with her best friend, Alice Littlefield. But now trouble has infiltrated Rosalind’s sanctuary, and the reputations in danger include her own. 

Alice has formed a tender attachment to Amelia, the maid in their employ, and her affection is returned. But before meeting Alice, Amelia was involved with Cate Levitton, daughter of a well-respected family. The scandalous liaison caused the Levittons to banish Cate to the house of her widowed cousin. Amelia has no expectation of seeing Cate again—until she stumbles upon her in the marketplace, looking deathly ill.

The women bring Cate to their home with the help of Bow Street officer Adam Harkness, who deduces that Cate’s sickness may in fact be arsenic poisoning. But who had motive, or means? As Rosalind and Adam work side by side, their suspicions grow—as does the bond between them. Rosalind knows that both her blossoming relationship with Adam and her increasing independence would be frowned upon by society. Poison, politics, jealousy and jewel thieves combine in Rosalind’s most complex case yet.  But to solve this dangerous puzzle, Rosalind must also decide where her heart and her future lie . . .

About the Author

Darcie Wilde is the award-winning author of stylishly adventurous historical mysteries and romances, including the Rosalind Thorne Mysteries, a Regency-set series inspired by the novels of Jane Austen, as well as the Regency Makeover Trilogy. She has also written, under the name Sarah Zettel, Locus and Philip K. Dick Award-winning novels, including Fool's War, a New York Times Notable Books of the Year selection. She lives in Michigan and can be found online at DarcieWildeRomance.com.

Praise for The Secret of the Lady's Maid (A Useful Woman Mystery #2)

Praise for The Secret of the Lady's Maid

“Wilde moves deftly between the personal and political in a complex tale of love and betrayal.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Wilde maintains steady momentum all the way to a satisfying conclusion. Fans of Andrea Penrose and Anna Lee Huber will be pleased.” —Publishers Weekly